Matthew Harding, Phyllotaxis 2002-2003, spun mirror-polished stainless steel (Detail)
Introduction | Exhibition | Judges | Further Reading | Visiting
The Artists  
Geoffrey BARTLETT  
Peter D COLE  
Matthew CURTIS  
Roselin EATON  
Matthew HARDING  
Linde IVIMEY | Wrk 1 | Wrk 2  
David JENSZ  
Andrew LESLIE  
Noel McKENNA  
Lisa ROET  
Julie RRAP  
Richard Tipping  
Arthur WICKS  

WINNER | Lisa Roet Political Ape 2001-2002

The National Sculpture Prize and Exhibition 2003 is a major exhibition of contemporary Australian sculpture, offering an opportunity to encounter recent works by some of Australia's leading artists, as well as introducing several new and emerging artists working in the sculptural field today.

The exhibition includes works by 21 artists from around Australia whose works address a wide range of issues, from the personal to the political, and employ both the languages of abstraction and representation. This diversity reflects both the vitality and pluralism of sculpture in Australia today.

The National Sculpture Prize and Exhibition was established in 2000 as a partnership between the National Gallery of Australia and Macquarie Bank to support and promote sculpture in Australia. It is one of the most generous prizes for contemporary art, with a $50 000 award for the winning work, and the Macquarie Bank People's Choice Award of $4 000 for a work chosen by visitors to the exhibition.

Judges for the 2003 National Sculpture Prize and Exhibition are; Dr Brian Kennedy, Director, National Gallery of Australia, Dr Anna Gray, Assistant Director, Australian Art, National Gallery of Australia, Mr Julian Beaumont, Chairman, Macquarie Bank Art Committee, Professor Ian Howard, artist and Dean of the College of Fine Arts, University of New South Wales and Mr Ron Robertson-Swann, OAM, sculptor and painter.

The finalists were chosen from 520 entries received from around Australia. The Prize is open to artists working across all forms of sculpture, including installation and works in new media. Artists could enter up to for works each. These could either be works completed within the previous year, or proposals for new works. Site-specific or outdoor works were not eligible to be entered.

The inaugural 2001 National Sculpture Prize and Exhibition was awarded to Ah Xian, a Chinese Australian artist, whose life-size female figurative sculpture Human Human- Lotus Cloisonné Figure 1 combined the ancient Chinese technique of cloisonné with the western figurative tradition. A Highly Commended Award was presented to West Australian new media artists Geoffrey Drake-Brockman and Richie Kuhaupt for Chromeskin. The People's Choice Award was won by Ruth Downes, whose exuberant Tea party in the Mayoral garden captured the imagination of visitors with it's witty word play on variations of 'tea'.

2003 Conditions of Entry

National Sculpture Prize and Exhibition
Open 21 March – 9 June 2003

For further Information about the The Sculpture Prize and Exhibition please contact :

Elena Taylor Coordinating curator

phone: +612 6240 6635
fax: +612 6240 6529
National Gallery of Australia, GPO Box 1150, Canberra ACT 2601

Introduction | Exhibition | Judges | Further Reading | Visiting
For further information about Macquarie Bank Limited please visit the website at
All the works on these pages are reproduced with the permission of the artists.